Free Wet Hugz | 94th All Media Exhibition


Established in 1922, the Annual All Media Exhibition at the Ann Arbor Art Center has a long and rich history. Submissions are accepted in any media.

Read K.A. Letts’ All Media Review on Pulp


Congratulations to the 94th Annual All Media Winners:

Jean-Paul Aboudib – Chaos In Captivity
Louis Boyang – Mother’s Day
CJ Breil – Conduct Becoming: Surveys #3 and #4
Yuling Chuang – Exist, Coexist: Harmony 2
Analicia Honkanen – Dallying (Free Wet Hugz)
Nathan Margoni – No Fear
Robert Mirek – No. 681
Julia Pangborn-Harley – A Brown, Gravelly Road Framed by Barren Plants
Cristin Velliky – Hull
Yuge Zhou – Green Play


About the juror:

Paul Kotula has worked as a gallery director for Pewabic Pottery, Swidler Gallery, REVOLUTION (Detroit and New York) and paulktoulaprojects. Working with an international list of artists, he has formed over 200 solo and group exhibitions pertinent to the field of contemporary art and visual culture.

Paul Kotula has exhibited his work internationally since 1991. His work has been featured in numerous magazines including “Paul Kotula: On art, design and living in the Motor City,” American Craft (Dec/Jan 2009). He is a frequent visiting artist/critic at Cranbrook Academy of Art and a former instructor at College for Creative Studies in Detroit. Among his awards are two Individual Artists Fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and a grant from the Michigan Council for the Arts and Cultural Affairs.

Paul Kotula earned his MFA from the New York State College of Ceramics at Alfred University in 1989. He currently is an Associate Professor of Ceramics at Michigan State University.

Selected Artists:

Jean-Paul Aboudib • Lucia Behmer • Louis Boyang • Cj Breil • Larry Butcher • Yuling Chuang • Paul Collins • Spencer Corbett • Jason DeMarte • Rocco DePietro• Melissa Dorn Richards • Myles Gallagher • Bruce Giffin • Feng Guo • Shiqing He • Analicia Honkanen • Chia-Yi Huang • Dennis Jones • Haena Kang • Philippe Hyojung Kim • Ruth Koelewyn • Lucas Korte • Candace Law • Loraine Lynn • Nathan Margoni • John McLaughlin • Robert Mirek • Julia Pangborn-Harley • Gloria Pritschet • Roberta Rousos • Linda Seckinger • Lawrence Sekulich • Jacqueline Simon • Margaret Squires • Jack St. John • Cedric van Eenoo • Cristen Velliky • Yuge Zhou


Entries Submission Deadline:  Sunday, September 18
Artists Notified of Juror Selections: Tuesday, September 27
Artwork Drop-off Deadline: on or before Monday, October 10
Installation Period: October 9 – October 13
Opening Reception (and announcement of winners): Friday, October 14
Exhibition Closes:  Saturday, November 12
Pick-up of Work: Sunday-Tuesday, November 13 – 15