Press Release: 95th Annual All Media Exhibition

‘Wasserman Projects’ Director partners with Art Center for 95th All Media exhibit

Ann Arbor, MI (December 5, 2017) — The Ann Arbor Art Center’s annual All Media exhibition opens Friday, December 15, 2017 as a show juried by Alison Wong, Director of Wasserman Projects in Detroit’s Eastern Market.

The exhibition runs from December 15, 2017-January 13, 2018 in the 117 Gallery of the Ann Arbor Art Center, 117 West Liberty Street. The opening party is free and open to the public (6:00-9:00pm on December 15) and cash prizes will be given for three ‘Best in Show’ awards.

Now in the 95th year, the annual ‘All Media’ exhibition at the Art Center has a long and rich history. In an effort to showcase regional talent, artists from across the Great Lakes region were invited to submit their artwork for consideration through an open call for entry. Submissions were then reviewed by guest juror, Alison Wong through an anonymous jury process. From 600 submissions, Wong selected 36 artworks from 29 artists. Half of the exhibiting artists reside in Michigan, with the other half residing in Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin, and Minnesota.

“Each year we continue to be pleased with the diversity and creativity of the All Media artists. Alison Wong has an incredible artistic sensibility that resulted in a cohesive vision for the show. We are thrilled to continue this long Ann Arbor tradition.” – Megan Winkel, Gallery Director

Juror Alison Wong is an artist/curator whose studio practice is based out of Butter Projects in Royal Oak, MI, an artist-run studio and exhibition space she founded in 2009. She is also the director at Wasserman Projects in Detroit’s Eastern Market. Wong received her MFA at Cranbrook Academy of Art in Bloomfield Hills, MI and her BFA at the Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore, MD. Working primarily in painting and drawing, Wong has exhibited locally, nationally, and internationally.

Selected Artists: Lisa Marie Barber • Morgan Barrie • Jennifer Belair • Carol Boram-Hays • Christy Chan • Winnie Chrzanowski • Vineta Chugh • Ilene Curts-Thayer • Kaylee Dalton • Zoe Davis • Aaron Deshields • Autumn-Grace Dougherty •  Egan Franks Holzhausen •  Jesse Hickman •  Megan Hildebrandt •  Kathleen Kameen • Rosemary Lee •  Sung-Jae Lee •  Ryan Lewis • Grace Lin •  Maureen Nollette • Elizabeth Panzer • Rachel Pontious • Glenn Rous • Claire Stankus • Priya Thoresen • Paul Van Heest • Vanessa Varjian

For more information please contact Galleries Director Megan Winkel, at mwinkel@annarborartcenter.org